The Hellfire Club
Montpelier Hill, also known as The Hellfire Club, is well-known in Irish history. The Hellfire Club is the name given to the ruined but surprisingly intact building atop the mountain. The building was an old hunting lodge built around 1725 by William Conolly. On the slopes of this mountain is a forestry plantation known as Hellfire Wood, which consists of Sitka spruce, larch and beech trees.
Over the past three years, the Hellfire Club Archaeological Project, a collaborative project between Abarta Heritage, the Heritage Office of South Dublin County Council, Coillte and the Dublin Mountains Partnership, has sought to uncover the story of Montpelier Hill and to establish the nature of its archaeological landscape.
Discover more about the unfolding 5,000-year story of the Hellfire Club and Montpelier Hill.