Pearse Museum Rathfarnham
Located in Rathfarnham close to Marlay Park and surrounded by 50 acres of beautiful parkland known as St Enda’s Park, the Pearse Museum is located in the former home and innovative Irish-speaking school of Patrick Pearse, one of the leaders of the 1916 Rising.
“The Hermitage” was originally built by Edward Hudson, State Dentist, who signed a lease on the lands in 1786. Over a century later, Patrick Pearse discovered the house while on a historical pilgrimage of sites associated with Robert Emmet. The house was also the Pearse family home, with his mother, brother and sisters assisting in the running of the school, Scoil Eanna. The Pearse Museum (in Irish known as Músaem na bPiarsach) is in fact dedicated to both Pearse brothers.
Set in the beautiful St Enda’s Park, in the foothills of the nearby Dublin Mountains, the museum tells the story of Scoil Eanna and of Patrick and his brother William Pearse, both of whom were executed for their part in the 1916 Rising. An extensive exhibition on Pearse’s part in the 1916 Rising is also presently housed at the museum.
Pearse Museum and St Enda’s Park are operated and managed by the Office of Public Works. Entry is free and guided tours are available.
To complete your day out, a visit to nearby Rathfarnham Castle is also recommended. Both locations have cafés onsite.
Want to explore more about the area? Download our Rathfarnham Village Heritage Walk (pdf).